CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Hertfordshire Life today CLICK HERE

Restaurant Review: Le Rendez-vous, Ware

PUBLISHED: 11:50 22 December 2010 | UPDATED: 15:14 20 February 2013

Le Rendez-vous

Le Rendez-vous

A small French restaurant's reputation precedes it as food and drink editor Richard Cawthorne heads for Ware to find out more

WORD had reached me about Le Rendez-vous Restaurant long before I had the opportunity to go there, which is usually a good sign, unless the person tipping you off turns out to be the owner's cousin, or some such. In this instance, it was part of a conversation about how Ware, with its reputed 27 restaurants - although I haven't yet counted them - might be turning into the gastro-capital of Hertfordshire. While St Albans might have something to say about that, it was clearly time to take a look.

Like Lussmans in Hertford, reviewed last month, Le Rendev-vous shelters behind an unprepossessing exterior, one of a line of ordinary shop fronts straggled along the high street, and the building is apparently 400 years old. But on a late April Thursday, we can't get in until 8.30pm, and even then we get a table in the back.

Not that it matters. Le Rendez-vous is what might charitably be described as compact, managing 42 covers indoors until the weather improves enough to open up the terrace garden for al fresco dining, so wherever you are in the room you're part of the action. But it's cosy rather than crowded and friendly without being pushy. Exposed brickwork and beams add to the atmosphere.

With most of the tables already occupied, there is an air of quiet comfort about the place. The background music is vintage Sinatra and the like, and while the restaurant is busy, there is a distinct lack of the sort of self-conscious rush lesser places put on.

Much of this is down to the lady of the house, Lesley Thompson, who with her husband and chef Jorge, opened Le Rendez-vous in July 2001 and runs the front of house with cool efficiency. Seven years on and it's still crowded.


Seven years on and it's still crowded


And so to the menu. Le Rendez-vous bills itself as a French restaurant, which is interesting since Jorge is Mexican, but there is certainly a strong French influence and Jorge can point to previous experience at The Dorchester and The Ivy as proof he knows what he's doing. The nine starters and nine mains listed certainly contain several French dishes, but there is a choice and as it happens it's the grilled king scallops for milady and ravioli stuffed with lobster and wild mushroom (both 8.95) for me that get the vote. The scallops come wrapped in bacon and with a trendy white wine froth and the ravioli are rich and creamy. Both are delicious.

To follow, I choose the hearty pan fried Dutch calves liver with crispy pancetta, bubble and squeak and Lyonnaise sauce (15.95), which ticks all the right boxes on a drizzly night in Ware, while my companion gets the marginally better plate of roast breast of duck with rosti potato and orange glaze sauce (14.50) with a wild rocket and parmesan salad (3.95) on the side. Readers paying attention will note this brings the cost of this dish to 18.45 - just as well the food was good.

Le Rendez-vous' website speaks of a warm welcome, and we certainly had that, and if you want to try the place without breaking the bank, a new summer promotion offers lunch at 10 and dinner at 15 for two courses, except Saturdays. There's also a Spanish night on Wednesdays. Definitely worth a try.


USEFUL TO KNOW
The total cost of dinner for two was 75.25, including a bottle of wine at 18.95 and 10% tip, which is added automatically. This is an independent review, featuring a restaurant selected and experienced by our food and drink editor. The restaurant was not told it was being reviewed.




Le Rendez-vous Restaurant
64 High Street
Ware SG12 9DA
01920 461021
www.lerendez-vousrestaurant.co.uk

0 comments

More from Food & Drink

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Indulge in the very best of pub classics every Wednesday night at The Black Horse.

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

It’s that time of year again and we have our special T-BONE steak offer!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

A trailblazer nearly 30 years ago, this Hertford Thai restaurant is on the cusp of reinvention

Read more
November 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018

If you don’t fancy slaving over a hot fire this year, head to one of these restaurants for a festive feast on Christmas Day

Read more
Tuesday, October 23, 2018

A warming bonfire night snack, easy and delicious and full of autumn flavour

Read more
October 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Make the most out of autumn with these eight walking routes that take in a variety of Hertfordshire’s terrains and - most importantly – have a cosy pub along the way

Read more
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Pulled and rolled Jacob’s ladder with potato, carrot and leek cake, roasted baby leeks and veal jus

Read more
October 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018

Auberge du Lac opened its doors in 1998 and we are inviting you to celebrate the restaurants fabulous history on Wednesday 28th November.

Read more
Monday, October 8, 2018

Buntingford gains a new 28-cover fine-dining restaurant with the opening of the Falcon

Read more
October 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Christmas at the Tilbury from 23rd November to 29th December.

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy


Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Local Business Directory

Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search